Tierwissenschaften

Pferdewissenschaft

Über dieses Programm

Das Equine Science-Programm ermöglicht es jedem Studenten, durch praktische Erfahrungen einen erfolgreichen Karriereweg aufzubauen. Während der Kurse in diesem Programm werden die Schüler viele Aspekte der Pferdewissenschaft erkunden, darunter: Grundlegende Pferdepflege, Trainingstechniken, Reiten / Fahren, Notfallversorgung, Stallmanagementpraktiken, Reitunterricht, Pferdegesundheitspflege, Zucht und Genetik, Anatomie und Physiologie, Ernährung und allgemeines Wohlbefinden, Gesetze und Vorschriften und praktische Reitkunst. Siehe unten für die vollständige Kursbeschreibung.

Ein Schüler steht neben einem Pferd, hält das Pferd an der Leine und beide schauen mit glücklichen Gesichtsausdrücken in die Kamera.

Karrierewege

  • Pferdetrainer
  • Ernährungscoach
  • Pferde Tierarzt
  • Pferdetierarzt Tech
  • Reitlehrer
  • Landwirtschaftslehrer
  • Pferdemassagetherapeutin
  • Therapeutischer Reitlehrer
  • Tierzüchter
  • Spezialist für Pferdepflege
  • Stallmeister
  • Hufschmied
  • Direktor des Pferdeprogramms

Industriepartnerschaften

Zertifizierungen

  • OSHA 10 Stunden allgemeine Industrie

Artikulationsvereinbarungen

Mitglieder des Beratungsausschusses

  • Justin Goguen, Alumni
  • Jacek Grotnik, Myopia Polo Education Foundation
  • Amanda Hogan, Windrush-Farm
  • Cassie Houde
  • Liz Johnson, UNH und On the Bit Events
  • Kimberly McGuire
  • Bryan Parrott, Parrott Equine Assoc. GMBH
  • Monique Proulx, The Equestrian Shop
  • Pat Saunders, Saunders
  • Diya Shah, Studentenvertreterin
  • Mayuri Shah, Elternvertreter
  • Alexis Stasinos, New England Equine/Alumni

Lernen Sie die Lehrer für Pferdewissenschaften kennen

Frau Julia Giaquinto

Lehrer für Tierwissenschaften
JGiaquinto@essextech.net

Frau Cynthia Lavash

Temporärer Pferdespezialist
CLavash@essextech.net

Clarice Menesale

Frau Clarice Menesale

Lehrer für Pferdewissenschaften
CMenesale@essextech.net

Frau Emily Poulin

Lehrer für Pferdewissenschaften
EPoulin@essextech.net

Frau Andreana Vigneaux

Pferdespezialist
AVigneaux@essextech.net

Kursbeschreibungen für Pferdewissenschaften

Kurs NummerNameHabenKlassenstufe
eq101Pferdewissenschaften Explorative 91.0Grade 9
eq103Pferdewissenschaften 910.0Grade 9
eq201Pferd I 105.6Grade 10
eq202Pferdegesundheit und Ernährung 104.0Grade 10
eq203Pferdenotfallversorgung 105.6Grade 10
eq204Anatomie und Physiologie des Pferdes 104.8Grade 10
eq301Pferdewissenschaften Züchtung und Genetik 114.8Grade 11
eq302Pferdewissenschaften Gesundheitsmanagement I 115.6Grade 11
eq303Pferdewissenschaften Praktische Reitkunst9.6Grade 11
eq305Kooperative Ausbildung Pferdewissenschaften 1112.0Grade 11
eq306Theorie der Pferdewissenschaften 114.0Grade 11
paa301CTE Pathway: Kommunikation & grundlegende Fähigkeiten2.0Grade 11
paa302CTE Pathway: Tierethik & Agrargesetze2.0Grade 11
eq401Stallverwaltung 124.8Grade 12
eq402Reitweise, Training und Unterricht des Pferdes 1211.2Grade 12
eq403Pferdegesundheitsmanagement II 124.0Grade 12
eq405Kooperative Ausbildung Pferdewissenschaften 1224.0Grade 12
eq406Theorie der Pferdewissenschaften 124.0Grade 12
paa401CTE Pathway: Laborfähigkeiten für Tierwissenschaften2.0Grade 11
paa402CTE Pathway: Angewandte Mathematik in den Tierwissenschaften2.0Grade 11
Pferdewissenschaftliche Exploration 9 

Kurs Nr. eq101 | Credits: 1.0
Dieser fünftägige Explorationskurs führt Schüler der 9. Klasse in einen Überblick über das Gebiet der Pferdewissenschaften ein. Die Schüler üben praktische Fähigkeiten, einschließlich Halftern, Führen und Pflegen. Sicherheit in der Nähe von Pferden und richtige Kleidung werden besprochen. Weitere Themen sind pferdebezogene Terminologie, Verhalten und pferdebezogene Karrieremöglichkeiten. 

Pferdewissenschaft 9 

Kurs Nr. eq103 | Credits: 10.0
Dieser semesterbasierte Kurs wird es den Studenten weiterhin ermöglichen, die verschiedenen Aspekte und Karrieren zu erkunden, die im Bereich der Pferdewissenschaften angeboten werden. Die Schüler werden auch Nagetiere, Reptilien, Vögel, Pferde, Nutztiere, Spezialtiere, Hunde, Katzen und Fische erforschen. Zu den Themen gehören Sicherheit, Verhalten, Handhabung, ordnungsgemäßes Management, Gesundheitsfragen und Unterbringung. 

Pferd I 10 

Kurs Nr. eq201 | Credits: 8.0
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs wird den Studenten weiterhin die Möglichkeit bieten, die Pferdeindustrie und die verschiedenen Karrierewege zu erkunden. Die Schüler lernen etwas über Pferdetraining; Reittechniken, Pflege und Management sowie allgemeine Gesundheitsaspekte für Pferde. Die Schüler lernen, Rassen, Farben und Abzeichen von Pferden zu erkennen. Die Schüler werden sich auch darauf konzentrieren, ihre Reit- und Trainingsfähigkeiten in den verschiedenen studierten Disziplinen voranzutreiben. 

Pferdegesundheit und Ernährung 10 

Kurs Nr. eq202 | Credits: 2.0
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs führt die Studenten in die grundlegende Tiergesundheit und Ernährung ein, einschließlich der Anatomie und Physiologie des Verdauungssystems. Auch Futtermittel, Nährstoffe, Verdauung, Nährstoffbedarf, Ernährungsstörungen und -mangel werden behandelt. Die Schüler konzentrieren sich auf angemessene Umweltbedingungen und Hygieneverfahren für die Tiergesundheit. Darüber hinaus lernen die Studierenden Methoden des BSC (Body Condition Scoring) sowie Methoden zur Bestimmung von Gewicht und Größe eines Pferdes für Fütterungs- und Medikationszwecke kennen. 

Pferdenotfallversorgung 10 

Kurs Nr. eq203 | Credits: 4.0
In diesem ganzjährigen Kurs lernen die Schüler, ein gesundes Pferd zu erkennen und ein verletztes oder krankes Pferd zu beurteilen und zu behandeln. Normales Verhalten, Vitalfunktionen, äußere Anatomie des Pferdes und fortgeschrittene Methoden der Zurückhaltung werden ebenfalls besprochen. Die Schüler lernen gängige Medikamente, ihre Verwendung, richtige Dosierung und Verabreichung kennen. Weitere Themen sind das Erkennen, Behandeln und Verhindern verschiedener Arten von Wunden sowie der Körperbau und seine Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit, Ursachen und Behandlung von Koliken sowie die Symptome, Ursachen und Behandlung von Lahmheit. 

Anatomie und Physiologie des Pferdes 10 

Kurs Nr. eq204 | Credits: 2.0
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs vermittelt den Studenten das Wissen über Form und Funktion des Körpersystems des Pferdes. Untersucht werden Haut-, Bewegungs-, Kreislauf-, Atmungs-, Nieren-, Nerven- und Hormonsysteme. Es wird auch Diskussionen über Krankheiten und Zustände im Zusammenhang mit jedem System geben. 

Pferdezucht und Genetik 11 

Kurs Nr. eq301 | Credits: 4.0
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs bietet den Studenten eine Einführung in die Reproduktion und Genetik von Pferden. Zu den Themen gehören: Anatomie und Physiologie der Fortpflanzungsorgane von Stuten und Hengsten, künstliche Befruchtung, natürliche Deckung, Genetik, Bewertung von Pferden für potenzielles Zuchtmaterial, Stadien der Trächtigkeit und Brunst, Stadien des Fohlens sowie normale und abnormale Geburten. 

Pferdewissenschaftliches Gesundheitsmanagement I 

Kurs Nr. eq302 | Credits: 4.0
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs konzentriert sich auf das Verständnis einer Vielzahl von Themen rund um die Gesundheit von Pferden. Die Schüler werden das Verdauungssystem des Pferdes und die Vorbeugung und Behandlung von Koliken untersuchen. Die Studierenden entwickeln ein Gesundheitsprogramm für Pferde, das die Vorbeugung und Bekämpfung von Pferdekrankheiten, inneren und äußeren Parasiten, Impfungen und damit verbundenen Aufzeichnungen umfasst. Weitere Themen sind Massachusetts General Law 128D sowie Auswirkungen und Haftung in der Pferdeindustrie. Die Schüler lernen auch die örtlichen Tierkontrollgesetze der Städte kennen und bestimmen die Schritte, die zum Erhalt einer Stalllizenz erforderlich sind. 

Pferdekunde Praktische Reitkunst 11 

Kurs Nr. eq303 | Credits: 8.0
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs vermittelt den Schülern alle Schritte, die zur Vorbereitung eines Pferdes für den Showring sowie zur Präsentation eines Pferdes an der Hand für Shows, tierärztliche Untersuchungen, Vorkaufsprüfungen und Versicherungsbewertungen erforderlich sind. Die Schüler lernen die verschiedenen Theorien und Methoden des Beinschutzes von Pferden, Schertechniken im Stall, Pflege und Wartung von Schermaschinen und den sicheren Umgang mit Schermaschinen kennen. Praktische Reitkunst wird die Schüler in ihren Reitfähigkeiten weiter voranbringen, um einen sicheren und ausgewogenen Sitz mit geübter Kontrolle über das Pferd zu erreichen. Der Einsatz von Pferden für die Therapie wird ebenfalls einbezogen, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf den folgenden Aspekten eines therapeutischen Reitprogramms liegt: Unterrichtsunterricht, freiwillige Rollen und Auswahl und Konditionierung des Therapiepferdes. Dieser Kurs bereitet die Schüler auch darauf vor, mit einer Vielzahl von Disziplinen zu arbeiten und in der Lage zu sein, geeignete Pferde und Ausrüstung für jede erlernte Disziplin auszuwählen. Die Schüler werden ihre Fähigkeiten in den Grundlagen des Langleinens und des Bodenfahrens als Trainings- und Konditionierungsmethoden erweitern. 

Pferdewissenschaftstheorie 11 

Kurs Nr. eq306 | Credits: 4
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs im Klassenzimmer hilft den Schülern, die Wissenschaft hinter Pferdefarben, -rassen, -disziplinen und -decken zu verstehen. Die Schüler werden sich auch mit der Pflege und dem Scheren von Pferden befassen. Stallmanagement-Fähigkeiten konzentrieren sich auf Aufzeichnungen, Ausrüstung, Hilfen, Reitkunst und Showmanship. Pferdekarrieren und Hochschulen werden diskutiert, um den Schülern zu helfen, ihre Zukunft zu planen. 

Pferdewissenschaftliche Kooperative Ausbildung 11 

Kurs Nr. eq305 | Credits: 12
Dieser semesterbasierte Studiengang bietet qualifizierten Studierenden eine berufliche Perspektive im technischen Bereich. Das Programm soll den Studierenden eine Ausbildung am Arbeitsplatz ermöglichen, indem sie in Arbeiten eingebunden werden, die in direktem Zusammenhang mit ihrem technischen Studienbereich stehen. Kooperierende Arbeitgeber bieten zusätzliche Schulungen an, bezahlen die Schüler und melden ihre Leistung für jeden Zyklus an die Schule. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Junioren nur im dritten und vierten Quartal zur kooperativen Ausbildung berechtigt sind. 

Stallverwaltung 12 

Kurs Nr. eq401 | Credits: 4.0
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs vermittelt den Schülern ein allgemeines Verständnis der Pferdestallverwaltung. Die Schüler werden in die Themen des Stallmanagers eingeführt, darunter Gesetze und Vorschriften für das Anhängerfahren, den Transport von Pferden, die Entwicklung eines Hufprogramms, Fußmaterialien, die Entwicklung eines Leasingprogramms sowie Budgets und Dokumente, die häufig in der Pferdebranche zu finden sind. Die Schüler werden auch die Entwicklung der praktischen Fähigkeiten fortsetzen, die erforderlich sind, um bei Pferden häufig auftretende medizinische Probleme zu verhindern, zu erkennen und zu behandeln. Weitere Themen sind die Vorbeugung und Behandlung von Koliken, die Vorbeugung und Behandlung von Lahmheiten sowie verschiedene Arten alternativer Behandlungsmöglichkeiten. Optionen für die Platzierung von Pferden, nachdem sie mit bestimmten Aufgaben fertig sind, werden ebenfalls besprochen. Die Studenten werden auch Karrierewege in der Pferdeindustrie zusammen mit den Fähigkeiten und der Ausbildung erkunden, die für die Arbeit in diesen Bereichen erforderlich sind. 

Reitweise, Training und Unterricht des Pferdes 12 

Kurs Nr. eq402 | Credits: 10.0
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs führt die Schüler in Aspekte des Reitens, des Trainings und des Unterrichts ein. Die Schüler werden eine Vielzahl von Trainings- und Unterrichtstechniken durch angewandtes Lernen sowie Exkursionen zu Standorten außerhalb des Campus erkunden. Die Schüler absolvieren Reitunterrichtsstunden. Eine Vielzahl von Trainingsmethoden und -theorien für Pferde werden diskutiert und angewendet. Die Schüler lernen in verschiedenen Disziplinen das richtige Anlegen von Zaumzeug sowie verschiedene Gebisse und Trainingshilfen. Die Schüler lernen auch Pferdeverbände und -lizenzen sowie Sicherheitsprotokolle für eine Vielzahl von Pferdedisziplinen kennen. Fortgeschrittene Techniken in Long Lining und Body Clipping und Show-Vorbereitung werden geübt. 

Pferdegesundheitsmanagement II 12 

Kurs Nr. eq403 | Credits: 4.0
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs wird das Verständnis der Schüler für eine Vielzahl von Themen rund um die Gesundheit von Pferden weiter entwickeln. Wir werden medizinische und stabile Evakuierungspläne für eine Vielzahl von Naturkatastrophen besprechen. Die Schüler lernen auch, Probleme zu erkennen, die eine sofortige tierärztliche Behandlung und Lahmheitsursachen und -bewertung erfordern. Weitere Themen sind alternative Formen medizinischer Behandlungen, verschiedene Arten medizinischer Bildgebung, das Sehen von Pferden in Bezug auf Training und Verhalten. Die Schüler lernen auch etwas über die Rettung und Rehabilitation von Pferden und Optionen für den Ruhestand und / oder die Umsiedlung eines Pferdes, wenn die aktuelle Karriere des Pferdes vorbei ist. 

Pferdewissenschaftstheorie 12 

Kurs Nr. eq406 | Credits: 4
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs im Klassenzimmer vertieft das Verständnis der Schüler für Pferdewissenschaften. Zu den theoretischen Themen gehören Pferdepflege, Trainingstechniken, Reiten/Fahren, Notfallversorgung, Stallmanagementpraktiken, Reitunterricht, Pferdegesundheit, Zucht und Genetik, Pferdeanatomie und -physiologie, Ernährung und allgemeines Wohlbefinden, Gesetze und Vorschriften sowie praktische Reitkunst. 

Pferdewissenschaftliche Kooperative Ausbildung 12 

Kurs Nr. eq405 | Credits: 24
Dieser ganzjährige Kurs bietet qualifizierten Studenten eine berufliche Karriere im technischen Bereich. Das Programm soll den Studierenden eine Ausbildung am Arbeitsplatz ermöglichen, indem sie in Arbeiten eingebunden werden, die in direktem Zusammenhang mit ihrem technischen Studienbereich stehen. Kooperierende Arbeitgeber bieten zusätzliche Schulungen an, bezahlen die Schüler und melden ihre Leistung für jeden Zyklus an die Schule. 

Zwei Pferde stehen in einer Koppel, deren Köpfe über den weißen Zaun hängen.
Zum Inhalt

Animal Sciences

Equine Science

About This Program

The Equine Science program allows each student to build a successful career path by providing hands-on experiences. Throughout the courses in this program, students will explore many aspects of Equine Science including: Basic Equine Care, Training Techniques, Riding/Driving, Emergency Care, Barn Management Practices, Riding Instruction, Equine Health Care, Breeding and Genetics, Anatomy and Physiology, Nutrition and General Wellness, Laws and Regulations, and Practical Horsemanship. See below for full course description.

A student stands next to a horse, holding the horses lead and both look at the camera with happy expressions.

Career Paths

  • Horse Trainer
  • Nutritionist
  • Equine Vet
  • Equine Vet Tech
  • Riding Instructor
  • Agriculture Teacher
  • Equine Massage Therapist
  • Therapeutic Riding Instructor
  • Animal Breeder
  • Equine Care Specialist
  • Barn Manager
  • Farrier
  • Equine Program Director

Industry Partnerships

Certifications

  • OSHA 10 Hour General Industry

Articulation Agreements

Advisory Committee Members

  • Justin Goguen, Alumni
  • Jacek Grotnik, Myopia Polo Education Foundation
  • Amanda Hogan, Windrush Farm
  • Cassie Houde
  • Liz Johnson, UNH and On the Bit Events
  • Kimberly McGuire
  • Bryan Parrott, Parrott Equine Assoc. LLC
  • Monique Proulx, The Equestrian Shop
  • Pat Saunders, Saunders
  • Diya Shah, Student Representative
  • Mayuri Shah, Parent Representative
  • Alexis Stasinos, New England Equine/Alumni

Meet the Equine Science Teachers

Ms. Julia Giaquinto

Animal Science Teacher
JGiaquinto@essextech.net

Ms. Cynthia Lavash

Equine Specialist
CLavash@essextech.net

Clarice Menesale

Ms. Clarice Menesale

Equine Science Teacher
CMenesale@essextech.net

Ms. Emily Poulin

Equine Science Teacher
EPoulin@essextech.net

Equine Science Course Descriptions

Course NumberNameCreditGrade Level
eq101Equine Sciences Exploratory 91.0Grade 9
eq103Equine Sciences 910.0Grade 9
eq201Equine I 105.6Grade 10
eq202Equine Health and Nutrition 104.0Grade 10
eq203Equine Emergency Care 105.6Grade 10
eq204Equine Anatomy & Physiology 104.8Grade 10
eq301Equine Sciences Breeding and Genetics 114.8Grade 11
eq302Equine Sciences Health Management I 115.6Grade 11
eq303Equine Sciences Practical Horsemanship9.6Grade 11
eq305Equine Sciences Cooperative Education 1112.0Grade 11
eq306Equine Sciences Theory 114.0Grade 11
paa301CTE Pathway: Communication & Essential Skills2.0Grade 11
paa302CTE Pathway: Animal Ethics & Agricultural Laws2.0Grade 11
eq401Barn Management 124.8Grade 12
eq402Equine Methods of Riding, Training and Instruction 1211.2Grade 12
eq403Equine Health Management II 124.0Grade 12
eq405Equine Sciences Cooperative Education 1224.0Grade 12
eq406Equine Sciences Theory 124.0Grade 12
paa401CTE Pathway: Laboratory Skills for Animal Sciences2.0Grade 11
paa402CTE Pathway: Applied Mathematics in the Animal Sciences2.0Grade 11
Equine Science Exploratory 9 

Course # eq101 | Credits: 1.0
This five-day cycle exploratory course introduces grade 9 students to an overview of the field of equine science. Students will practice hands-on skills, including haltering, leading, and grooming. Safety around horses and proper attire will be discussed. Other topics include equine-related terminology, behavior, and equine-related career options. 

Equine Science 9 

Course # eq103 | Credits: 10.0
This semester-based course will continue to allow students to explore the different aspects and careers offered within the equine science field. Students will also explore rodents, reptiles, birds, equine, livestock, specialty animals, dogs, cats, and fish. Topics will include safety, behavior, handling, proper management, health issues, and housing. 

Equine I 10 

Course # eq201 | Credits: 8.0
This full-year course will continue to offer students an opportunity to explore the equine industry and the various career pathways. Students will learn about horse training; riding techniques, care, and management along with general health considerations for horses. Students will learn how to identify breeds, colors, and markings of horses. Students will also focus on moving forward in their riding and training skills among the various disciplines studied. 

Equine Health and Nutrition 10 

Course # eq202 | Credits: 2.0
This full-year course will introduce students to basic animal health and nutrition, including the anatomy and physiology of the digestive system. Feedstuffs, nutrients, digestion, nutrient requirements, nutritional disorders and deficiencies will also be covered. Students will focus on proper environmental conditions and sanitation procedures for animal health. In addition, students will learn methods of BSC (body condition scoring) along with methods of determining weight and height for an equine for feeding and medication purposes. 

Equine Emergency Care 10 

Course # eq203 | Credits: 4.0
This full-year course will teach students to recognize a healthy horse and how to assess and treat an injured or sick horse. Normal behavior, vital signs, external anatomy of the horse, and advanced methods of restraint will also be discussed. Students will learn about common medications, their use, proper dosage, and administration. Additional topics will include recognizing, treating and preventing various types of wounds along with conformation and how it affects soundness, causes and treatment of colic, and the symptoms, causes and treatment of lameness. 

Equine Anatomy & Physiology 10 

Course # eq204 | Credits: 2.0
This full-year course will provide students with the knowledge of form and function of the body systems of the horse. The integumentary, musculoskeletal, circulatory, respiratory, renal, nervous, endocrine systems will be examined. There will also be discussions on diseases and conditions related to each system. 

Equine Science Breeding and Genetics 11 

Course # eq301 | Credits: 4.0
This full-year course will provide students with an introduction to equine reproduction and genetics. Topics will include: the anatomy and physiology of the mare and stallion reproductive tracts, artificial insemination, natural cover, genetics, evaluating horses for potential breeding stock, stages of gestation and estrus, stages of foaling, as well as normal and abnormal parturition. 

Equine Science Health Management I 

Course # eq302 | Credits: 4.0
This full-year course will focus students on understanding a variety of equine health-related topics. Students will review the equine digestive system and the prevention and treatment of colic. Students will develop an equine health program that includes the prevention and control of equine diseases, internal and external parasites, vaccinations, and related record keeping. Additional topics will include Massachusetts General Law 128D and impact and liability in the equine industry. Students will also learn about local town and city animal control laws and determine the steps involved in obtaining a stable license. 

Equine Science Practical Horsemanship 11 

Course # eq303 | Credits: 8.0
This full-year course will provide students with all the steps involved in preparing a horse for the show ring as well as presenting a horse in hand for showing, vet examinations, pre purchase exams, and insurance appraisals. Students will learn about the various theories and methods of equine leg protection, barn-clipping techniques, clipper care and maintenance, and safe handling of clippers. Practical horsemanship will continue to move students forward in their riding skills in order to achieve a secure and balanced seat with practiced control of the horse. Using horses for therapy will also be included with an emphasis on the following aspects of a therapeutic riding program: lesson instruction, volunteer roles, and selecting and conditioning the therapy horse. This course will also prepare students to work with a variety of disciplines and be able to select appropriate horses and equipment for each discipline learned. Students will further their skill levels in the fundamentals of long lining and ground driving as training and conditioning methods. 

Equine Science Theory 11 

Course # eq306 | Credits: 4
This full-year, classroom-based course will help students to understand the science behind horse colors, breeds, disciplines and blanketing. Students will also explore horse grooming and clipping. Stable management skills will focus on record keeping, tack, aids, equitation and showmanship. Equine careers and colleges will be discussed to help students plan for their future. 

Equine Science Cooperative Education 11 

Course # eq305 | Credits: 12
This semester-based course provides qualified students with a career technical employment opportunity. The program is designed to allow students on-the-job training by involving them in work that is directly related to their technical area of study. Cooperating employers provide additional training, pays students, and reports their performance to the school for every cycle. Please note that juniors are eligible for Cooperative Education during third and fourth quarters only. 

Barn Management 12 

Course # eq401 | Credits: 4.0
This full-year course will provide students with a general understanding of equine barn management.Students will be introduced to barn manager topics, including trailering laws and regulations, transporting horses, developing a shoeing program, footing materials, developing a leasing program as well as budgets and documents often found in the equine industry. Students will also continue the development of the practical skills needed to prevent, recognize, and treat medical issues commonly seen in horses. Additional topics will include prevention and treatment of colic, lameness prevention and management, and various types of alternative treatments available. Options for placement of horses after they are done with given jobs will also be discussed. Students will also explore career pathways in the equine industry along with the skills and education needed to work in these areas. 

Equine Methods of Riding, Training and Instruction 12 

Course # eq402 | Credits: 10.0
This full-year course will introduce students to aspects of riding, training, and instruction. Students will explore a variety of training and instructing techniques through applied learning as well as field trips to off-campus sites. Students will complete riding instructing hours. A variety of equine training methods and theories will be discussed and applied. Students will learn the proper fitting of tack in various disciplines as well as different bits and training aids. Students will also learn about equine associations and licenses, and safety protocols for a variety of equine disciplines. Advanced techniques in long lining and body clipping and show preparation will be practiced. 

Equine Health Management II 12 

Course # eq403 | Credits: 4.0
This full-year course will continue to develop student understanding about a variety of equine health-related topics. We will discuss medical and stable evacuation plans for a variety of natural disasters. Students will also learn to identify problems that require immediate veterinary and lameness causes and evaluation. Other topics will include alternative forms of medical treatments, various types of medical imaging, equine vision as it relates to training and behavior. Students will also learn about equine rescue and rehabilitation and options for retirement and/or rehoming a horse when the current career for the horse is over. 

Equine Science Theory 12 

Course # eq406 | Credits: 4
This full-year, classroom-based course will deepen student understanding of Equine Science. Theory topics will include equine care, training techniques, riding/driving, emergency care, barn management practices, riding instruction, equine health care, breeding and genetics, equine anatomy and physiology, nutrition and general wellness, laws and regulations, and practical horsemanship. 

Equine Science Cooperative Education 12 

Course # eq405 | Credits: 24
This full-year course provides qualified students with a career technical employment opportunity. The program is designed to allow students on-the-job training by involving them in work that is directly related to their technical area of study. Cooperating employers provide additional training, pays students, and reports their performance to the school for every cycle. 

Two horses stand inside a paddock with their heads hanging over the white fence.
Skip to content