Class of 2018 Senior Award and Scholarship Recipients

Essex Technical High School honored dozens of graduating seniors during the annual scholarship and awards ceremony!


Salutatorian – Lyndsey Santomassino of Haverhill

Valedictorian – Christine Russo of Methuen

Presidential Scholar – Caroline DeGrappo of Ipswich

Core Subject Excellence Awards

  • English Language Arts– Benjamin Adams of Rockport
  • Social Studies– Kerry McManus of Lynn
  • Mathematics– Sadie Backstrom of Gloucester
  • Science– Anna Maria Miller of Middleton
  • Spanish– Jose Tavares of Salem

Vocational/Technical/ Agricultural Program Excellence Awards

  • Advanced Manufacturing – Jason Hedstrom of Salem
  • Arboriculture – Jacob Cummings of Lynn
  • Automotive Collision and Repair – Michael Dennis of Gloucester
  • Automotive Technology -Daniel Sherburne – of Beverly
  • Biotechnology – Nadia Reed of Peabody
  • Carpentry – Sarah LeClerc of Gloucester
  • Companion Animal – Hannah Pereira of Peabody
  • Cosmetology – Carly D’Orlando of Middleton
  • Culinary Arts – Kendra Sears of Salem
  • Dental Assisting – Hannah Beechy of Beverly
  • Design Visual Communications – Joseph Kluge of Peabody
  • Electricity – Bridget Gaskell of Gloucester
  • Environmental Technology – Diana Garcia Peguero of Lynn
  • Equine Science – Danielle Gomes of Beverly
  • Graphic Arts – Victoria Vecchiarello of Danvers
  • Health Assisting – Tatyana Silva of Peabody
  • HVAC Refrigeration – Bailey Heald of Danvers
  • Information Technology Services – Mathew Cunha of Peabody
  • Landscape Turf Management – Corey Foss of Salem
  • Natural Resource Management – Morgan Davidson of Beverly
  • Plumbing – Zach Grayton of Peabody
  • Sustainable Horticulture – Emily Brown of Salem
  • Veterinary Technology – Christine Russo of Methuen

Leadership Awards

  • Career Vocational Technical Director – Jane Sadovskaya-Jones of Salem
  • George S. Patton – Caroline DeGrappo of Ipswich, Nathaniel Jorgenson of Peabody
  • Skills USA Chapter – Tayana Silva of Peabody

Scholarships and Memorial Awards

  • Automotive Expo Tool – Zachary Robinson of Danvers
  • John Lynch Scholar/Athlete – Alyson Reed of Danvers, Joseph Paragona III of Peabody
  • John Flibotte – Kevin Sheppard of Lynn
  • Raymond Harrington – Sara Leger of Salem
  • John Crawley Memorial – Geena Stasiuk of Ipswich, Joseph Paragona III of Peabody
  • James Vinning Family – Taylor Bettencourt of Danvers, Ailish Driscoll of Salem
  • Massachusetts Trowel Trades Memorial – Gary Landry of Boxford
  • Delande Electrical Supply – Jared Jacobson of Peabody
  • Roland-Morin – Jacob Bettencourt of Peabody, Michael Cushing of Salisbury, Julia Wersackas of Lynnfield
  • Gloucester Pride Stride Lynne “Lani” Vachon Memorial – Abigail Feener of Gloucester
  • Kameron Spiridigliozzi Memorial – Abigail Feener of Gloucester, Christoper Hussey of Danvers
  • Florence “Dolly” Sabatini Memorial – Jericka Arrendell of Salem
  • Alipio Sabatini Memorial – Patrick Johnson of Beverly, Morgan Davidson of Beverly
  • Michael Heitz Memorial via Strutz Volvo – Daniel Sherburne of Beverly
  • Joshua Picariello Memorial – Terrence Martinez of Salem
  • Christopher Wheeler memorial – Gary Landry of Boxford
  • Andre Veatch memorial – Peter Anderson of Beverly, Philip Cicala of Manchester
  • Richard V. Newman Memorial – Abigail Kessel of Middleton
  • Ellen Kline Memorial – Madison Hermance of Peabody, Rebecca Smalley of Lynn
  • Massachusetts Vocational Association – Emily Brown of Salem
  • Massachusetts Vocational Association Non-Traditional – Julia Wersackas of Lynnfield
  • Massachusetts Association of Vocational Administrators Outstanding Vocational Technical Student – Caroline DeGrappo of Ipswich
  • Walter J. Markham – Jenna Tocco of Danvers
  • Principal Award via Massachusetts Secondary School Administrators Association – Emily Craig of Saugus, Francisco Martinez Guerrero of Salem, Emily Edge of Salem, Natalia Knowles of Boxford
  • S. Bauer School Committee – Julia Wersackas of Lynnfield
  • Massachusetts Association of School Superintendents – Geena Stasiuk of Ipswich, Otto Miller of Gloucester
  • Essex Agricultural Society – Morgan Davison of Beverly, Lyndsey Santomassino of Haverhill, Gabriel Vigna of Boxford
  • Farm Bureau – Morgan Davidson of Beverly
  • Essex County Fruit Growers Association – Anthony Johnson of Beverly
  • Charles E. Larner Family Foundation – Caroline DeGrappo of Ipswich, Courtney Howarth of Haverhill, Kayla Hulse of Haverhill
  • Essex Agricultural Technical Alumni Association
    • Byron Bennett – Hannah Valvano of Rockport
    • Richard M. Brown – Courtney Howarth of Haverhill
    • Ellery E. Metcalf – Anthony Johnson of Beverly
    • Patrick G. Santin – Abigail Raimondi of Groveland
  • Jack Hammond Memorial – Emily Brown of Salem
  • Francis “Mike” Clifford via Middleton Board of Trade – Sadie Backstrom of Gloucester
  • PTSO Book Award – Aliana Caron of Peabody, Mackenzie Hughes of Saugus, Anthony Johnson of Beverly, Patrick Johnson of Salem, Marc Lemieux of Salem, Jade Martinez of Andover, Joseph Paragona III of Peabody, Jenna Tocco of Danvers
  • Briscoe Middle School Book Award – Morgan Davidson of Beverly
  • Middleton Board of Trade – Meaghan Perry of Middleton
  • Rotary Club of Topsfield, Boxford, and Middleton – Samuel Shirley of Boxford
  • North Andover Commissioner’s Award– Emily Caterino of North Andover
  • Portuguese Americans for Higher Education – Taylor Bettencourt of Danvers, Mathew Cuhna of Peabody, Tatyana Silva of Peabody

Skip to content